In the dark.

It’s not in the morning when I’m going to work.
It’s not in the afternoon when I’m sitting at home.
It’s not in the evening when I’m out with my friends.
It’s not even at night watching a movie with my family.

It’s in the dark.

It’s late at night when i turn the lights off and all I see is you there beside me.
It’s in my bed.
It’s late at night when the lights are off and all I feel is you there close to me.

It is then.

The pain in my chest when I lay on my back.
The lack of your warmth behind me when I lay on my side.
The emptiness below me when I lay on my stomach.

Scared to sleep.
So hard to turn the lights off.

It’s then when I see you.
It’s then when I wish things I should never hope for.

It is then.
In the dark.
When I want you.

It is then when His heart hurts.
For my thoughts are impure and my heart unclean.

Forgive me.

It is then.
In the dark.
When my heart hurts.

But it doesn’t end there.

God is light. He shines in the darkness. He exposes sin and cleanses all who come to Him repentant.

I need Him and His light now. There is no need to fear the darkness, for He has overcome it. I have come to Him repentant and He has been faithful to expose my sin and cleanse me.

His light will protect me, guide me, and encourage me
In the darkness.

Leave a Reply

